Fausto Pinto
Lisbon University Medical School
Professor Pinto received his MD and PhD from the Lisbon University Medical School and completed fellowships at Santa Maria University Hospital (Lisbon, Portugal) and Stanford University Medical School (CA, USA), where he was also Clinical Attending in the Echocardiography Laboratory. He was the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Lisbon (2015–22) and is both Professor of Cardiology and Head of the Cardiovascular Department at Santa Maria University Hospital. Professor Pinto was previously the President and Founder of the European Association of Echocardiography (2003–04), President of the European Society of Cardiology (2014–16) and President of the World Heart Federation (2021–22). He is a Fellow of multiple organisations, including: European Society of Cardiology (FESC), European Association of Cardiovascular Imaging (FEACVI), American College of Cardiology (FACC), American Society of Angiology (FASA), Society for Cardiac Angiography and Interventions (FSCAI) and American Society of Echocardiography (FASE). In addition, he is an honorary member of several international societies and academies. Professor Pinto has published more than 600 papers. He was the Editor in Chief of the Portuguese Journal of Cardiology and is currently a consulting editor and member of the advisory and editorial boards of several peer-reviewed journals. His main areas of interest are global health, digital health, ischaemic heart disease, heart failure, anticoagulation and cardiovascular imaging. He has a particular interest in the use of ultrasound in cardiology and has pioneered the use of intravascular ultrasound in the study of graft atherosclerosis.
Back to members
The Heart Failure Policy Network is an independent, multidisciplinary platform made possible with financial support from AstraZeneca and Roche Diagnostics. The content produced by the Network is not biased toward any specific treatment or therapy. All outputs are guided and endorsed by the Network’s members. All members provide their time for free. The Network is hosted by The Health Policy Partnership .